Technology

Spectroscopy is the branch of physics and analytical chemistry dealing with electro-magnetic spectra. In physics, spectroscopic methods are used to study the properties of any possible interaction of radiation with matter. In analytical chemistry, it is used for the detection and characterization of materials by measuring their characteristic spectra.

To begin with, there is a brief review how spectrometers are used and what characteristics they feature. Spectrometers measure the intensity of electromagnetic radiation as a function of frequency or wavelength. Spectrometers operating in the optical range (from ultraviolet (UV) to infrared (IR)) are referred to as spectrophotometers. One of the problems that spectrophotometers can solve is measuring transmittance, reflectance, and absorption of a sample as a function of frequency (wavelength) of light incident on it. Key parameters of a spectrophotometer are operating spectral range, spectral resolution, dynamic range, and the rate of spectrum acquisition.

  • Operating spectral range is the interval between the minimum and maximum light frequency (or corresponding wavelengths) within which the spectrometer measures reliable data.
  • Spectral resolution is the minimum frequency or wavelength difference that can be distinguished (resolved) in the spectrum. Usually spectrophotometers are designed so that the spectral interval corresponding to resolution coincides with the minimum scanning step. Spectral resolution is expressed either in terms of wavenumber - reciprocal centimeters (cm-1), or in wavelength units - nanometers (nm).
  • Dynamic range is the ratio of the maximum signal level of a radiation detector (at which the detector is still in linear mode) to the detector noise level. Dynamic range determines, for example, the interval between the minimum and maximum optical density recorded by the instrument. Under the condition of low optical density or high transmittance the dynamic range can be limited by photon noise. At high values of optical density (low transmittance) the photodetector dark noise becomes critical. In Fourier transform spectrometer due to interferogram averaging the noise level is reduced regardless of its nature.
  • Rate of spectrum acquisition is the number of spectra acquired in a unit of time for a given spectral resolution. In scanning monochromators the time of spectrum acquisition is determined by a scan rate (typically expressed in nm/min) and depends on the entire spectral range width; in Fourier transform spectrophotometer the spectrum is calculated based on interferogram once for the entire spectral range, so the registration speed is determined by number of acquired spectra per time unit, such as per second.

Let us consider operation principle of dispersion and Fourier transform spectrometer:
ff1 en.png

A modern dispersion spectrophotometer is typically based on a monochromator having one or several dispersion gratings. A light beam entering the input slit is collimated with a concave mirror and then goes to the diffraction grating. The grating reflects the light in some range of angles, different angles corresponding to different wavelengths. A narrow slit is set at the output, which cuts out certain spectral band out of the angle decomposition. It is the width of the spectral band defined by the size of the slit that determines spectral resolution of the instrument. The narrower the slit the higher spectral resolution, but at the same time the larger light loss. As the grating is rotated, different wavelengths can be “cut out”. The amount of light at each wavelength is measured with a detector, for example, silicon photodiode. Thus, in order to collect transmission spectrum of a sample, e.g., a glass plate with deposited film of substance under investigation, one should place the sample between the monochromator output slit and the photodetector. Sequential scanning through wavelengths by means of the grating rotation together with light intensity registration behind the sample provides a spectrum – light intensity vs. wavelength. The spectrum contains data on transmittance of the sample as a function of wavelength. In order to get these data one should also measure intensity spectrum at the monochromator entrance without a sample (so called "reference" spectrum). Having calculated the ratio of the intensities of the two spectra one gets the transmission spectrum of the sample.

Mechanical rotation of a diffraction grating itself takes time due to its being inertial. So, even rough registration of spectrum (with low spectral resolution and low signal-to-noise ratio) takes tens of seconds. Acquisition of a spectrum with high resolution and in a wide dynamic range, when each separate wavelength should be filtered with high accuracy, may take tens of minutes or even hours. This imposes very strict requirements for the light source stability in time. Moreover, the light scatters in a dispersion spectrometer on the grating and other inner parts. It means that in addition to useful light a scattered light with unknown spectral characteristics falls onto the output slit. The scattered light causes actual spectrum distortion and dynamic ratio decrease. This problem is treated with second grating installation, application of special coatings onto inner details of the spectrophotometer. One more problem is that the grating provides a multiplicity of diffraction orders that must be filtered (excluded). All these facts limit both spectral and dynamic range of the instrument and obviously increase the cost.

ff2 en.png

Fourier transform spectrophotometer is based on a Michelson interferometer. Collimated beam of light falls onto the interferometer entrance. Then the beam is split by a beam splitter plate into two beams having approximately equal intensity. After being reflected from mirrors these beams interfere at the interferometer output. At least one mirror in FTS is movable. Special mirror movement control systems provide its periodic movement, moving speed being maintained constant for maximal possible part of the mirror’s path. The resulting interferogram that is registered with the photodetector includes all information about irradiation spectrum. Spectral resolution in this case is controlled by movable mirror path length, whereas spectral range is limited only with working range of the light source, the beam splitter, the mirrors and the photo detector.

It is worth noting that in order to provide spectral resolution of 10 cm-1 (being moderate for IR range, this value corresponds to more than dignified resolution of 0.1 nm in UV range) mirror’s movement is required as small as 1 mm. This movement can be done very quickly. Thus, high spectra acquiring rate is an obvious advantage of Fourier transform spectrophotometer. FTS design does not imply any slits, which might considerably blind the light beam; accordingly, these instruments are considered as light efficient. Scattered light does not participate in interference, therefore non it affects both the interferogram and the resulted spectrum. Also Fourier transform spectrophotometer does not have the problem, which is typical for grating instruments and related to the necessity of higher order suppression. An interferogram accumulation, on the contrary to a spectrum accumulation, does allow to expand dynamic range considerably.

However, along with many clear advantages of Fourier transform spectrometers over diffraction spectrophotometers, they still have their weak points. FTS technology requires very accurate mirror movement that is achieved by using advanced mechanics and complicated mirror control system based on laser reference channel. In order to provide high accurate interferogram, all optical elements must be of ultimate quality. All factors mentioned lead to current realizations of FTS being high cost and covering mostly IR spectral range, in which they surpass any other device by spectral resolution and dynamic range.

Novelty of our Fourier transform spectrometer is elimination the idea of the mirror movement at a constant speed. Instead we have developed the principle of the mirror movement according to well-known harmonic law. This approach has allowed to simplify mechanical part, to exclude reference laser channel and, at the same time, considerably raise the upper frequency boundary of working spectral range.

Технология

Спектроскопия - раздел физики и аналитической химии, посвящённый изучению спектров электромагнитного излучения. В физике спектроскопические методы используются для изучения всевозможных свойств взаимодействия излучения с веществом. В аналитической химии — для обнаружения и характеризации веществ при помощи измерения их характеристических спектров.

Кратко поясним, зачем нужны спектрометры и какими характеристиками они обладают. Спектрометр измеряет интенсивность электромагнитного излучения в зависимости от его частоты или длины волны. Спектрометры, работающие в оптическом диапазоне (от ультрафиолетового (УФ) до инфракрасного (ИК)), принято называть спектрофотометрами. Одна из задач, которая решается с помощью спектрофотометров – это измерение коэффициентов пропускания, отражения и поглощения образцов  в зависимости от частоты (длины волны) падающего на образец света.  При этом важными характеристиками прибора являются рабочий спектральный диапазон, спектральное разрешение, динамический диапазон, скорость регистрации спектров. 

  • Рабочий спектральный диапазон – это интервал между минимальной и максимальной частотой света (или соответствующими длинами волн) в пределах которого  спектрометр гарантированно способен регистрировать спектр.
  • Спектральное разрешение – это минимальная разность между частотами (длинами волн)  двух монохроматических волн излучения, при которой эти две волны могут быть разделены (разрешены) в спектре. Как правило спектрофотометры проектируются так, чтобы спектральный интервал, соответствующий разрешению, совпадал с минимальным шагом сканирования.  Спектральное разрешение выражается либо в единицах волновых чисел – обратных сантиметрах (см-1), либо в единицах длины волны – нанометрах (нм). 
  • Динамический диапазон – это отношение уровня максимального сигнала от  детектора излучения (при котором детектор остается в линейном режиме)  к уровню шума детектора. Динамический диапазон определяет, например, интервал между минимальной и максимальной оптическую плотностью, регистрируемой прибором. В условиях малых оптических плотностей или высоких коэффициентов пропускания динамический диапазон может ограничиваться фотонным шумом. При высоких значениях оптической плотности (низком коэффициенте пропускания) определяющим становится темновой шум фотодетектора. В фурье-спектрометрах при усреднении интерферограмм уровень шума снижается  независимо от его природы.
  • Скорость регистрации спектров – количество спектров, измеряемых в единицу времени при заданном спектральном разрешении. В приборах с последовательным спектральным сканированием скорость регистрации спектра определяется скоростью сканирования (обычно выражается в нм/мин) и зависит от ширины всего спектрального интервала; в фурье-спектрометрах спектр вычисляется из интерферограммы сразу для всего спектрального диапазона, поэтому скорость регистрации определяется числом спектров в единицу времени, например, в секунду.    

Рассмотрим принципы действия дисперсионного спектрометра и фурье-спектрометра:
ff1.jpg

Современный дисперсионный спектрометр, как правило, построен на базе монохроматора с одной или несколькими дифракционными решетками. С входной щели монохроматора пучок света после коллимации вогнутым зеркалом падает на дифракционную решетку. Этот пучок дифракционная решетка отражает в некотором диапазоне углов. При этом под разными углами отражаются разные длины волн. На выходе монохроматора ставят узкую щель, которая вырезает из углового спектрального разложения узкую спектральную полосу. Именно ширина этой спектральной полосы, задаваемая размером щели, определяет спектральное разрешение прибора. Чем уже щель, тем выше спектральное разрешение, но тем больше световые потери. Если вращать решетку, то можно «вырезать» щелью разные длины волн. Количество света на каждой длине волны регистрирует детектор, например, кремниевый фотодиод. Теперь, чтобы измерить спектр пропускания какого-либо образца, например,  стеклянной пластинки с нанесенной пленкой тестируемого вещества, нужно поместить этот образец между выходной щелью монохроматора и детектором. Последовательно сканируя по длинам волн вращением решетки и регистрируя интенсивность светового потока на выходе образца, получают спектр – зависимость интенсивности света от длины волны. Измеренный таким способом спектр содержит информацию о коэффициенте пропускания образца в зависимости от длины волны. Для извлечения этой информации необходимо также измерить спектр интенсивности на выходе монохроматора без образца (так называемый "опорный" спектр). Вычислив отношение интенсивностей в двух спектрах получают спектр пропускания образца.

Механическое вращение дифракционной решетки само по себе, в силу инерционности, занимает значительное время. Поэтому даже грубая регистрация спектра (с низкими спектральным разрешением и отношением сигнал/шум) требует десятки секунд. Для регистрации одного спектра с высоким разрешением и в широком динамическом диапазоне, когда требуется фильтрация сигнала на каждой из длин волн, могут потребоваться десятки минут и даже часы. Это накладывает очень высокие требования к стабильности источников света во времени. Кроме того, в дисперсионном спектрометре происходит рассеяние света на дифракционной решетке и других внутренних элементах. Это означает, что в область выходной щели попадает не только полезный свет, но и свет неизвестного спектрального состава. Наличие рассеянного света искажает реальные спектры и уменьшает динамический диапазон. С эти приходится бороться – ставить вторую решетку, использовать специальные покрытия на внутренних деталях спектрометра. Еще одна проблема заключается в том, что у решетки существует множество дифракционных порядков, что требует их фильтрации. Все это ограничивает как  спектральный, так и динамический диапазон прибора, и, естественно, увеличивает его стоимость.

ff2.jpg

Фурье спектрометр основан на интерферометре Майкельсона. На вход интерферометра падает коллимированный (параллельный) пучок света. Далее этот пучок разделяется с помощью светоделителя на два пучка с примерно равной интенсивностью. Эти два пучка после отражения от зеркал интерферируют на выходе интерферометра. В фурье-спектрометре по меньшей мере одно из зеркал является подвижным. Специальные системы управления движением зеркала обеспечивают его периодическое движение, при этом скорость движения с высокой точностью обеспечивается постоянной на как можно  большем участке длины. Интерферограмма, полученная при движении зеркала и регистрируемая фотодетектором, содержит всю информацию о спектре излучения. Спектральное разрешение при этом определяется длиной перемещения подвижного зеркала, а спектральный диапазон ограничен лишь рабочими диапазонами источника света, светоделителя, зеркал и фотоприемника. Следует отметить, что для получения спектрального разрешения 10 см-1 (это значение, будучи очень скромным для ИК диапазона, в УФ области соответствует достойному разрешению около 0.1 нм) требуется перемещение зеркала всего на один миллиметр. Такое перемещение можно осуществить очень быстро. То есть, очевидным преимуществом фурье спектрометров является высокая скорость регистрации спектра. В фурье-спектрометре нет щелей, которые сильно диафрагмируют пучок. Поэтому эти приборы относятся к светосильным. Рассеянный свет не интерферирует и, поэтому, никаким образом не сказывается на интерферограмме и результирующем вычисленном спектре. В фурье-спектрометре также нет проблемы, характерной для дифракционных приборов и связанной с необходимостью фильтрации различных порядков дифракции. Накопление интерферограмм, в отличие от накопления спектров, позволяет значительно увеличивать динамический диапазон регистрации спектров.  

Однако, наряду с многими явными преимуществами фурье-спектрометров по сравнению с дисперсионными приборами,  имеются и свои проблемы. В фурье-спектрометрометрах требуется очень точное перемещение зеркал, что требует соответствующей механики и сложных систем управления зеркалами с использованием опорного лазерного канала. Для получения качественных интерферограмм оптические элементы должны быть высокого качества. Все это приводит к тому, что существующие реализации приборов являются достаточно дорогостоящими и охватывают, главным образом, инфракрасный диапазон, где им просто нет конкурентов по спектральному разрешению и динамическому диапазону.

Оригинальной идеей нашего фурье-спектрометра является отказ от использования принципов, основанных на перемещении зеркала с постоянной скоростью. Вместо этого мы используем предложенный нами принцип движения зеркала по заранее известному закону. Все это позволило радикально упростить механическую часть, отказаться от опорного лазерного канала и, при этом, повысить верхнюю частотную границу рабочего спектрального диапазона.